Hello world! Blogging about my runs, not Justin Biebers haircut !


Wowsers… This blogging doesn’t come at an easy price ! After minutes of  fiddling, I discovered how to post ! Congratulations Mr. Bear.

I saw “Bear” as a suitable I.D for this site… (A) because it is my pet name and (B) because I like to keep my running and training programs (cycles) to the “Bear” minimum…

I am a marathon runner who began marathoning in May of 2009. I have completed 3 marathons, 1 of which I would be willing to talk about, and 2 others which I have bombed. Ontop of that, I have also done 2 Half Marathons, 1 completed recently @ the Hypothermic Half in my city in a time of 1.40 and some change.

Marathoning is a never ending learning experience where regardless how bad a race goes, following months of preperation and training, you always tend to find yourself training for another. I curse Sunday morning runs longer then 16k, I curse them more when I turn on the Weather Network and it displays 20 below windchills. I usually chicken out at this point and run on the treadmill. I am a whimp !

My fastest marathon to date (which was also my first ever) was a 3.28 on a hilly, challenging course. Looking back on my training cycle for that marathon, I didn’t wear a watch, time ANY of my runs, wear a watch during the race and totally went by feel. I do think some evidence exists that running has gotten a little too technical with all the gadgets available and science behind training plans. I also didn’t use one of them. I also only ran 3 day’s one week and 4 the next. How might you ask did my marathons do downhill from that point ? Well, I shall answer… (1) I bought a Garmin, (2) I followed a training program, (3) I used the Garmin on every single run, (4) ran the race totally out of my means and unrealistically because of the Garmin, (5) Boston on the brain and trying to Qualify @ 3.10. I think you can see a patern ? And not only did I not pace myself correctly for 1 race, but I did it for 2 ! You would think I would have learned…

I have had some positive results in 2011.. The Hypothermic I ran, on less then ideal training, I probably ran (after the birth of the Garmin) one of the smartest races yet. I decided going into the run I was going to run 7:45 miles, which I beleived was realistic, and it was. I didn’t get caught up on being passed and ran my own race. I think I had made this mistake prior..

My goal for my next marathon, which I am hoping to be May 2011 is also going to be 7:45 miles. I ran 8:00 mm average during my first and I think it is realistic going from a 3.28 to a 3.20. 

I am writting up my own training plan and going to see how the first 3 weeks of training go before I make a commitment.. I am trying to talk my girlfriend into also running… I thought this was a genious way to keep track of training miles and plans as I have read other blogs who also used WordPress for that reason……

Cheers !

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About bearrunner

I am a resident and employed in Halifax N.s... I love to run marathons and half marathons... Employed in the health care industry, enjoy photography, music, warm weather...

3 responses to “Hello world! Blogging about my runs, not Justin Biebers haircut !”

  1. Mr WordPress says :

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. reymos says :

    Welcome to the blogging world. Thank you for liking and suscribing to my blogsite as well. Good luck to your running!

Leave a Reply

