Cliff-Hanger.. Your love, your love, your love is my ‘Clif Bar’.. I never knew Kesha !


I broke the cardinal rule of training; I tried a product I had not previously trained with on race day… The half I ran in February, I munched down a Clif Bar prior to starting the race. It worked out beautifully in the end as this didn’t give me any stomach discomfort, puking, stitches or cramps… If my memory serves me correctly, I believe it was a Chocolate Chip Clif Bar. I like this product and have added it into my training runs of 13 miles and over.

 It is not as dark concerning the possible consequences of doing this for a half marathon as it could have been if running a full marathon. In my opinion, and this does not necessarily reflect the opinion of those in the general population, I don’t think you need energy bars, GU’s or other supplement for a half marathon. With a good hearty breakfast and good hydration practices, a runner should be able to complete 13 miles on the bare minimum. I personally hadn’t eaten since about 2 hour’s prior to the race, had the Clif  Bar in my bag (gotten it for Xmas) and thought, Why not.

 Spring is literally around the corner now that we are approaching March. The heart of training for spring races is almost upon us, and slowly it is starting to lighten up earlier and earlier in the morning. It’s that time of year when everyone starts to get a little happier… We have made it through another winter!!! Almost…

Completed my 6 mile easy run yesterday… Boring as it possibly could have been on the tread-master. Temps were in the -12 to -15 ranges and for me, that is just to cold! I watched CNN and was bored out of my mind at the gym…

 Ovoir !

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About bearrunner

I am a resident and employed in Halifax N.s... I love to run marathons and half marathons... Employed in the health care industry, enjoy photography, music, warm weather...

3 responses to “Cliff-Hanger.. Your love, your love, your love is my ‘Clif Bar’.. I never knew Kesha !”

  1. mizunogirl says :

    I use A gel or two during a half. Not totally needed but the caffiene in them is what keeps me going on. Did you know Clif bar makes a toffee bar with caffiene in it!

  2. standrewslynx says :

    I got through a half without energy gels or any food stuffs. I found that a few mouthfuls of isotonic drink about 2/3rds of the way through gave me enough of an energy boost to keep going. Cliff bars are brilliant for slow-release energy of my hiking trips, though I think they’d sit a bit heavily in my stomach during a run…

Leave a Reply

