Post ‘Oscar’ Monday… Run or rest Monday? Running to Tim Hortons to ‘RRROLL Up the rim to win’ is the only running I will do today! Blue Nose Marathon ’11


Just another manic Monday… Oh, Oh.

Post Oscar Monday and you know what? I can’t give you an update cause I didn’t watch them.

I have made the decision to run the Blue Nose Marathon in ‘11. This run has treated me well in the past and I am hoping it is equally as generous this year. It is time to throw all unrealistic goals out the window, as well as attempting to secure a spot in the elusive Boston Marathon for ‘12, and simply go out to PB the marathon. The next step is going to be signing up and committing to the race! At least I don’t have the worry of the event selling out.

Last year was the nicest year ever in the events 7 year history. It was warm, sunny and boasted an excellent turnout. The Blue Nose has been plagued with bad weather for many of its 7 year’s one year holding the event in classic Nor’easter, Nova Scotia, hurricane conditions. You never really know what the day will hold till you wake up, look out the window and decide whether you will need a jacket, shorts, toque, thermals or sunscreen. The May 2-4 weekend is cursed in this province.

Today is a very joyous day… I am pleased that today it is the 28th of February, the finally day of the month, opening the doors to March and closer to spring! Winter appeared long and was out with vengeance this year. We, on the East, were slammed with weekly Sunday/ Monday storms throughout the season. A lot of talk has surfaced this year towards the change from El Niño to La Niña weather patterns which are to blame for the harsh winter most of us have experienced. I know little about the scientific factors behind these weather phenomena but have heard it leads to less than desirable spring and summers also?… Let’s hope not!

Today is my favorite day of the week… Rest day! I can’t say I don’t deserve it following 14 miles on a treadmill yesterday. I woke up this morning with sore legs and hips which are usual ailments of treadmill runs. Chilly this morning at -20, but the sun is shining bright, or at least it was. Typical Halifax snow and rain is forecast for this evening…

Hope everyone is having a great Monday… Soon to be Tuesday…
Cheers

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About bearrunner

I am a resident and employed in Halifax N.s... I love to run marathons and half marathons... Employed in the health care industry, enjoy photography, music, warm weather...

8 responses to “Post ‘Oscar’ Monday… Run or rest Monday? Running to Tim Hortons to ‘RRROLL Up the rim to win’ is the only running I will do today! Blue Nose Marathon ’11”

  1. Sarah S @RunningOnWords says :

    -20? Goodness, that sounds awful! It was 65 when I woke up this morning, but it cooled down to 28 already. I can’t wait for spring!

    • bearrunner says :

      It was a chilly morning to say the least… This evening we had some snow now it is pouring rain! I am more then ever waiting and anticipating spring!!! I wish it was 65 here. That is a great temp. Especially for running !

  2. jokobunny says :

    can’t imagine running without a music. hope you get into the Boston Marathon! =)

  3. Errign says :

    -20 sounds awful. Good for you for running so long on the treadmill, I don’t think I’d have the patience!

  4. Reymos says :

    I got a Thorton’s tumbler when I visited Toronto in 2007. Unfortunately, I cant use it here (UK) for a free choco! We dont have Thorton’s – not a coffee shop like Starbucks but a cholocate store!

Leave a Reply

