Run, Running.. Training off the treadmill!!! Space, the final frontier…


The planets have aligned… I am off to explore unchartered territory(this training cycle anyway)… Space, the final frontier!!!!!….

 To cut the drama, I ran outside this afternoon following work. I checked the Weather Network and almost talked myself out of it seeing a +2 temperature with a -9 wind chill. It was pretty funny actually… I was in the bathroom at the office, still dressed in my work clothes, holding my bag, and literally having a debate with myself about getting my wimpy butt outdoors, and the outdoors won! It was windy, it was overcast but I will tell you something… The run was awesome!

I did an easy 10k in 47.41. I should have slowed myself down a little more, but I feel great and the tightness I felt in my hamstring has all but disappeared.

I heard a couple of way- back, play backs on my MP3 I didn’t even know I had… #1) Shaggy’s Mr. Boombastic #2) Tone Loc? Funky Cold Modena… In no particular order.

Do you have any way-back, play-backs you listen to while running in the privacy of your own ears???

Cheers!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About bearrunner

I am a resident and employed in Halifax N.s... I love to run marathons and half marathons... Employed in the health care industry, enjoy photography, music, warm weather...

11 responses to “Run, Running.. Training off the treadmill!!! Space, the final frontier…”

  1. magnuminsp says :

    I don’t listen to any music when I run. I run at 4:00 am and enjoy the peace and quiet! I will probably start to listen to music when I run longer distances and for sure, if I am at the gym and I don’t like the music.

    80s metal, Van Halen, AC/DC, good old rock and roll!

    • bearrunner says :

      I find I dont need music when I run outside just on the treadmill to make it more bearable. Good song selections that would definately get you movin on the road

      cheers

  2. riskphotography says :

    Boombastic! That’s awesome!!!!
    I have so many good memories associated with that song… ahhh to be young again!

    • bearrunner says :

      I haven’t heard that song for years… It came on, and it was like a firecracker lit in my butt. Had to slow it down even though Shaggy was firing me up!

  3. Lisa says :

    all of my “way back play-backs” are on my old ipod and I can’t seem to figure out how to get them on my itouch! Boooo…but my friedns and I are known to crack a bottle of wine and you-tube old songs!

    • bearrunner says :

      I hate it when that happens… I find Apple and Itunes can be a frustrating program. I don’t know how many Shuffles I have been through now. Nothing beats a good bottle of wine!

      Cheers

  4. Aarika says :

    Oh MAN, I haven not even THOUGHT about Mr. Boombastic for years. Wow. Throwback!

  5. waddlingwonder says :

    Eye Of The Tiger.

    No shame.

  6. bgddyjim says :

    I run in my bicycling jacket now – best piece of clothing I ever bought. It was expensive ($150, got it on sale for $100) but I’m no longer cold when I run (even starting out is better)…and if I start to overheat, it unzips from the top AND bottom, so I can regulate very easily.

    Specialized Element Jacket. I also wear my cycling gloves – they’re a lot better than the standard cotton cloves and they don’t make me sweat too much like fleece.

    I posted my winter gear here: http://fitrecovery.wordpress.com/2011/12/27/for-winter-weather-its-all-in-the-gear/

    I’ve found it’s a lot easier to get outside when I’m not dreading the first two or three cold miles it takes to warm up.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Running on the Wings of Song « Mind, Motion & Matter - March 4, 2011

Leave a Reply

