Sunday long Run, Training run… Running on Sunday then relaxing and watching The Amazing race and apprentice! 15.5 miler


15.5 miles down… Ran it in 2:01 (a little too fast for a LSD) 7:51 miles…

Was expecting a possible heat wave. The weather forecasters have been all over the map predicting the weather for today as some said it would reach 10, others said 5, a few predicted rain and so on and so on… it just proves the best weather forecast is opening the blinds.

It was warm,  about 6 degrees celsius however the wind was also howling. First thoughts; Oh great. Winds were SW 25km/h (which is better than if they were northerly) with gusts @ 50km/h, good training as you never know what the forecast will bring on race day…

I brought the toque, and I wore the tights (which was pretty near perfect temperature wise) slipped on the gloves and zipped up the jacket.Had a clif bar before stepping out the door… The route was hilly but hills and Nova Scotia go hand in hand. This entire province is like a huge hill so you really can’t avoid them.

The run all in all was better than expected. Hit a little bit of a low point with about 4 miles to go (this is where I started listening to my Mp3) got smacked in the face by some consistent wind gusts and climbed a few hills. Misjudged (even with the Garmin) the turn around point and ended up walking the last mile cause I was hit 15.5 early lol. Enjoyed the walk!

Glad to be finished, glad to have gotten outdoors… Relaxing for the rest of the day!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About bearrunner

I am a resident and employed in Halifax N.s... I love to run marathons and half marathons... Employed in the health care industry, enjoy photography, music, warm weather...

10 responses to “Sunday long Run, Training run… Running on Sunday then relaxing and watching The Amazing race and apprentice! 15.5 miler”

  1. Anne says :

    Wow! You go girl! My long run is 8 miles – preparing for half marathon. Doing the 8 today. I too am going to be watching Apprentice and Amazing Race. My husband and I love both those shows.
    Have a great day!

    • bearrunner says :

      I enjoy 8 mile runs… I dont really look forward to anything over 12 miles… Up to that, I can handle. I love racing halfs.. such a manageable distance

  2. Vivek Karwal says :

    Good running indeed. I also did my long run(not comparable to yours though) this Sunday evening, but my relaxation was before it. Saw movie Red and Cricket whole day. Do you follow? Canada too has a promising team this time 🙂

  3. Pursuing the Goal says :

    Yikes! 7:51 splits on a Sunday should be illegal. I wanna be like you when I grow up!! =)

  4. Lisa says :

    Great run! I dread the windmore than almost any other weather element. Glad you didn’t let it keep you indoors.

  5. sarahtbland says :

    Nice 15.5 miles! The wind can always be a tough to deal with during a run. But I guess it can only make you stronger!

  6. Will says :

    I did a 16mi yesterday. Ran too far then had to walk about half a mile back- felt like a twerp!

Leave a Reply

