Garmin Forerunner 405, Running & Training.. Marathon, 10k, 5k, Half…


 

My favorite running companion is the Garmin Forerunner 405 CX?… I would never have acquired this watch had Santa not brought it down the chimney one Christmas morning. I was looking for a Garmin Forerunner 405, and for the life of me, could not find them anywhere. When I finally located them at the Toronto Waterfront Marathon Expo, the price tag was a little steep so I decided to ask Santa for one.

I still remember my first 10k using this watch on Christmas morning. The Garmin forerunner was going CRAZY because my jacket was constantly touching the bezel. I got absolutely no useful information from it on that run. At this point, I didn’t know about locking the bezel.

We have come a long way… One watch strap later, that’s the only part I have replaced as the plastic on the strap does wear down. Garmin has the option of a velcro strap which I highly recommend and solves the problem of the huge plastic strap with smaller wrists…

I use about 30% of the watches features… I have no interest in heart rate training, so I have not used the heart rate monitor. I use 3 data options; distance, time and pace… I prefer current pace, the avg pace never seemed to give my “actual” average pace. I have also used it for interval and repeats which works marvelous!…

I have had no issues during runs. If the bezel is locked you can still start/ stop/ lap/reset and save your run etc.. Locking simply locks the use of the Menu/ Bezel.

Allow the Garmin 405 to obtain a signal, best done standing still, then lock it! I see a lot of people using the Garmin Forerunner 305/310 and personally, I think it is too big. This surprisingly is one of the complaints of the Garmin Forerunner 405…

I could have gotten away with the new Forerunner 210, but I like the extra options on the  405 if needed… The Garmin Forerunner 210 is a toned down 405…

The Forerunner 305/310 is more geared towards multi-sport as these watches are waterproof and can be submerged where the Garmin Forerunner 405 cannot. This is probably why they are a little more expensive and accommodate bike mounts.

The one thing to be aware of… If you own this watch in Canada, and was purchased in Canada, Garmin wont fix/ replace/ honor in warrantee or out of warrantee repairs. Garmin is an American company and uses an” authorized” third-party repair/ dealer shop in Canada that charges “you” to ship. My watch strap issue, well within the first year, I decided to go on E-Bay and buy my own strap…Cheaper! I could write a whole different post about this issue… Just know, your watch will be sent to a repair shop in Quebec where they validate the watch and decide what the solution will be…

Just a basic post about my experience and knowledge with this watch… I would buy another if this one broke! Do you have any experience or stories of getting watch repaired/ fixed/ replaced in Canada??

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About bearrunner

I am a resident and employed in Halifax N.s... I love to run marathons and half marathons... Employed in the health care industry, enjoy photography, music, warm weather...

9 responses to “Garmin Forerunner 405, Running & Training.. Marathon, 10k, 5k, Half…”

  1. Lynn says :

    Very useful info. I’ve been wondering about these watches.

  2. Looking Out The Window says :

    I also found this useful as a plus size walker, trying to improve my personal best, and doing half-marathons in terrain that involves altitude I have been thinking about a “athletic” watch. Still not sure what is right for me, but you have made me think that one may be a good purchase.

  3. Sarah says :

    My brother got a Garmin for Christmas and swears by it. I’ve never moved past my Timex.

  4. fitinwinterpeg says :

    Getting a Polar watch/heart rate monitor is a similar experience – you have to mail it off to one of a few locations in Canada authorized to handle them. And that includes changing the battery! (Their explanation for that is that since the watch is waterproof, opening it yourself would void the warranty…) Luckily for me the battery seems to last a good long time and I haven’t had to replace mine yet.

    • bearrunner says :

      I was amazed at the whole process of getting the strap replaced. It would have cost like 80.00 for me to get a new strap from the authorized dealer, I got one on ebay myself for like 20.00. Garmin tried to help, I will give them that, they just were not able to since I was in Canada. No wonder they were so hard to find here, now you see them everywhere!
      I have heard and read the battery lasts a while on polar devices

      cheers

  5. Garmin Forerunner 305 Best Price says :

    Great article, totally what I needed.

  6. richdirector says :

    you should try HR training – my first race (mtb) was won using HR training after coming 3rd nearly 4 times in a row ….

Leave a Reply

