Introductions.. Marathon training… Hill workout… Running on treadmill… Rolling up the rim!


 

Hi folks, it’s me Jean, the running machine… That would work perfectly if my name was Jean, but it’s not. I don’t think I have formally introduced myself after all these posts. My name is John, and it is a pleasure to meet all of you and read all of your fabulous writing.

I was going to write about my running plans changing today, originally scheduled to do an easy 7 mile run but I chickened out, and since I was hitting the beloved treadmill AGAIN, I decided to a hill workout instead. I managed 6.2 miles, 6 hills, at a 5% incline and 8:05 minute miles. I guess I just wrote and told everyone anyway…

Is it normal to already be anticipating this whole training cycle and marathon being completed with 8 week’s still to go?

On vacation I am afraid I will be running in Cuba… I wont be stuck on a treadmill in Canada, I will be stuck on a treadmill in 90 degree heat, staring at palm trees swaying in the wind, and watching people chowing down at one of the buffets. I am going to take time off to relax also. We leave next Friday morning so my plan is to cram about 45-50 miles into 4 days that week and take Fri/ Sat and Sunday off as a start…

Marathon training is like a job in itself on top of lives already busy schedule!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About bearrunner

I am a resident and employed in Halifax N.s... I love to run marathons and half marathons... Employed in the health care industry, enjoy photography, music, warm weather...

23 responses to “Introductions.. Marathon training… Hill workout… Running on treadmill… Rolling up the rim!”

  1. riskphotography says :

    Have a great time in Cuba!!! I am planning a trip there for next year, so let me know how you like it 🙂

  2. pyllon says :

    Yeah, I don’t think people appreciate the hard work involved in just the organisation of training!
    Sounds like you have a plan though 🙂
    Enjoy your holiday.

    • bearrunner says :

      People don’t understand the obligation it takes for a half/ full… I am hoping my plan comes into fruitation..

      Cheers

      • laura says :

        I find non-runners just don’t get it in general. I got a lot of guilt trips from non-runners for not playing in a weekly wiffle ball game after doing long runs on Sundays.

        Good luck with your plan!! 🙂

      • bearrunner says :

        Thank-you! Good ole Sunday long runs. I am switching mine to Saturday just so they dont interfere with my entire weekend

  3. who cares says :

    i’m envying you actively 🙂

  4. mikesjog says :

    I’ll take the 90 degree workout in Cuba over the frost bitten efforts up north. Have a great run in Cuba.

    • bearrunner says :

      I agree, it’s funny cause I actually prefer running in the heat and humidity… I totally dislike the cold! I need to relocate to Florida~> In a way I am excited to run in Cuba, in other ways I prefer going on these trips following a marathon so you can relax, do nothing and drink!

  5. Jessica says :

    Way to go on the hills! I sympathize with you but you got six – that makes you a billy goat!

    • bearrunner says :

      lol, I remember reading your post… And actually thuoght about that while I was doing hills! That is funny 🙂

      I dislike hills more then speedwork

      cheers

  6. Lisa says :

    Enjoy your trip! I find myself already anticipating my marathon being run and complete – even though it’s more than 2 months away – so you’re not alone 😉

  7. colonel32 says :

    I can understand in Canada because of the weather, but will you be treadmilling in Cuba by choice? Running routes somewhere new is actually something to look forward to for me!

    • bearrunner says :

      I am not planning on treadmill running in Cuba, I am actually hoping the grounds are large enough to run around the resort… The dork that I am, I used google earth tool to measure the distance around the resort, it looks like it would be close to KM (1000 meters) in length so I may just do laps that way. The excersize room they offer looks good also with some nice treadmills

      cheers

  8. colonel32 says :

    Oh ok, that makes sense. Is it one of those area where it wouldn’t be safe outside the resort, or going outside is discouraged?

    I am a Google Earth nerd too!

    • bearrunner says :

      Internet has become a valuable tool! I am thinking I probably could run outside the resort or on the beach if I really had to, I just want to play it safe… Cuba is one of the safer places to travel too

  9. kittykategirl says :

    oh no! more dreadmill running… yuck! Hopefully you can find a nice spot outside to run when you are in Cuba instead of having to run on the treadmill. What marathon are you running? Good luck training!!

    • bearrunner says :

      I am hoping I can run around the resort… It looks like a pretty large property. I google earthed it all ready… I have to admit, the treadmill running is starting to get to me! I just went for a 7miler outside and it felt GREAT!

      cheers

  10. gristwoo says :

    How true! Training for a marathon is truly a full time profession!! 🙂 Enjoy Cuba and the warmth! Run Happy!! 🙂

    • bearrunner says :

      You run happy also… I have to say, it will be nice running in shorts and tshirt outside again… If it’s possible… If you can’t run fast, atleast run happy! ha ha 🙂

  11. Briana says :

    Your post is making me realize I need to do more hill training…the marathon I am running at the end of May is full of hills… that’s terrain in Northern New England for ya!

    Have a great time in Cuba!

Leave a Reply

