Run through the park… Treadmill boredenitis… Cloudy, Halifax day….


 

 I suffered from treadmill boredenitis today… I could not complete a third run, in a row, on the treadmill or watch more curling on the T.V’s.

I ventured off to a downtown park to run the trails that snaked around its perimetre, following along to the mouth of the ocean and out onto a lightly travelled road beside the ship yard. Turning around this route offered a nice challenging hill and is also part of the local marathon course!

I decided against checking the weather prior to leaving… Instead I looked out my patio door to a cloudy and overcast Halifax day. The winds were slight and temperatures perfect, not bone chilling cold, just great running conditions!

I completed 7 miles at an easy pace of 55 minutes and some change enjoying every minute of it. The fresh air, cool breeze, the ever changing landscape… It does wonders for treadmill boredenitis!

Today while I was running, minding my own business, I saw another runner approaching ahead. I have a habit of acknowledging other runners by giving a nod or a wave and this particular person, upon passing, failed in returning the gesture. I know most of the running and walking community to be a friendly bunch, most acknowledge other runners..

Do you say or offer a hello to other runners or ignore them?

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About bearrunner

I am a resident and employed in Halifax N.s... I love to run marathons and half marathons... Employed in the health care industry, enjoy photography, music, warm weather...

8 responses to “Run through the park… Treadmill boredenitis… Cloudy, Halifax day….”

  1. adamwindsor says :

    Depends how exhausted I am!

    People are usually pretty friendly to me anyway because I’m so obviously not Japanese like everyone else. But I always try to nod or smile as I go past. Sometimes when I’m on a long run, though, I try to just focus on the road ahead; at those times I don’t even notice people running past me.

    • bearrunner says :

      I understand that, I don’t feel much like waving either if I am going for a really long run… I start paying more attention to the cars almost hitting me.

  2. gr4c5 says :

    I’m painfully shy so I’ll look at someone’s forehead and wave as I run by (the illusion of looking at someone?). I’ve been told as a petite (5’1″) female I shouldn’t be making eye contact when running alone….*sigh*

    • bearrunner says :

      Probably a good idea… Lol not a bad idea, look at their forehead!

    • poeticruse says :

      I wouldn’t let the ‘someones’ of the world tell you not to make eye contact. I’m all about personal safety but staring at someone’s forehead doesn’t seem like it’s that much of a safety measure.

      Now, if you’re just shy, that’s fine. But don’t let it be because you’re afraid.

      • gr4c5 says :

        Definitely not afraid! I’m shy and gullible. I never believe anyone is really out to ‘get’ me, but the someones in my life are realllly protective of little ole me! 🙂

  3. poeticruse says :

    I try to wave a greeting, to passing cars, to neighbors in their driveways, and to passing runners.

    The only ones who have never been friendly in return are the other runners! Of course, most of my experience so far has been in the winter, so maybe they were too busy keeping their eyes out for cars or ice patches.

Leave a Reply

