Treadmill run training… Treadmill disasters!!! The fun training for marathons never stops!


 

I had the weirdest experience on the treadmill this afternoon… Like none other… To start the story, I was preparing for forecasted torrential downpours so I brought my gym stuff to head over directly from work, and be done with it. It was misting, overcast and foggy but no downpours by the time I was freeeeee…

I was only planning 5 miles so I figured I could withstand the treadmill for that short of a period. I hopped on, dialed it up to speed and started on my merry way. Was glad to see some skiing on the T.V’s for a change. The first issue happened about 5 minutes into the run, the treadmill malfunctioned. My mind was already physically not into the run and I should have thrown in the towel. I thought instead of playing around with the controls of the current treadmill, I jumped ship to the neighbour treadmill.

 That’s when it all went to hell… I felt as though my equilibrium was out of whack, like I had no balance on the machine, and was going to tumble off the back at any moment. It was as though I was an acrobat in the circus throwing my hands up in the air  in an attempting to regain my balance. My Mp3 player went flying off the machine a couple of times to add to the excitement (hit the cord with my arm) I have never been happier to have completed a run!

Hope you all have a great Friday!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About bearrunner

I am a resident and employed in Halifax N.s... I love to run marathons and half marathons... Employed in the health care industry, enjoy photography, music, warm weather...

6 responses to “Treadmill run training… Treadmill disasters!!! The fun training for marathons never stops!”

  1. laura says :

    Oh man – I’ve had those days too! But you finished the run – usually I cut it short and go home.

    • bearrunner says :

      It hasn’t happened to me quite as badly as it did this afternoon… I was like, WOW! I think I am tired, need rest and probably pushing a little to much. The body is trying to tell me something.

  2. Anne says :

    That is hysterical!

  3. Patchwork Reality says :

    I have had these days, I can’t wait for spring so that I can get outside again. Ihave a love/hate with the treadmill. Kudos for finishing!

Leave a Reply

