Sunday Long run… Marathon training, Boston marathon… Some runs just dont feel good


 

17 miles down today.. 2.22

I couldn’t help but reflect this morning how if I was running Boston, I would more then likely have done a 32k today… Thank-god I am not running Boston,  I don’t know if I would have made it 32k!

The weather was near perfect. All the wind/ rain blew away to Newfoundland leaving sun and mild temperatures. When I left it was +1 when I returned it was +8… I finally got out the door and was already anticipating the finish. That is not a good sign.

 I ran another route offering more then its share of hills… Gentle inclines, rolling hills and a couple monsters. It was great up until 3 miles, thats were I encountered the first monster. 1 mile up that never seemed to end! To make this worse, I took the onramp onto the highway to run a 1.5 mile stretch along the shoulder of  its 4 lanes (thats where the monster was located). Dont know if I would do this route EVER again.

I made it to 13.6 miles and the end was in sight! I stopped briefly at this point.I was mentally and physically exhausted and took a quick walk break. I also happened to meet up with my girl friend at this point so we had a quick pow-wow. We don’t run together as we run different paces and I usually give her a 25 minute headstart on our runs.  Our brief break actually energized me and I happened to make it to the end of this run (thank-god) and music assisted me for the final 2 miles!

I am tired, I am sore and again, I am exhausted! Glad it is finished!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About bearrunner

I am a resident and employed in Halifax N.s... I love to run marathons and half marathons... Employed in the health care industry, enjoy photography, music, warm weather...

3 responses to “Sunday Long run… Marathon training, Boston marathon… Some runs just dont feel good”

  1. colonel32 says :

    nice one, well done! That onramp/highway thing made me laugh, I’m always doing stupid things like that that seem a good idea in theory but turn out not to be 🙂

    • bearrunner says :

      It seemed like a brilliant idea, until I seen the hill… Didn’t realise how large it was till I ran up it. Great route if that hill wasnt part of it…

      cheers

  2. how to prevent bacterial vaginosis says :

    You are truly a good webmaster. The site loading velocity is amazing. It sort of feels that you are doing any unique trick. Moreover, The contents are masterpiece. you’ve performed a excellent activity on this subject!

Leave a Reply

