McDonald’s marathon training.. Mcdonald’s on the run! Good Monday morning…


I saw an interesting article while grazing around google this morning. A 36-year-old man, Joe D’Amico, training for the Los Angeles Marathon vowing only to eat McDonald’s for the final 30 day’s of his training. http://mcrunner.com/

Joe appears to be a relatively talented runner aiming for a 2.36 at Los Angeles, he logs 100 miles a week and runs a 6 minute mile.

He is collecting money for the Ronald McDonald house, 1$ for each Facebook fan and on his charity page https://www.firstgiving.com/fundraiser/mcrunner/lamarathon

From the article, http://olympiaconnections.com/blog/2011/03/11/the-mcrunner-man-training-for-marathon-eats-only-mcdonalds-for-30-days/, it doesn’t seem to be a publicity stunt, he is interested to see if it will make him faster!

He doesn’t supersize nor order Big Mac’s… He want’s to keep it healthy lol

Personally, I think doing this would make me ill. I love McDonald’s as much as the next runner but I have limitations. Didn’t the guy from Supersize me have huge health problems following his McDonald’s stunt?

Interesting experiment… I would be curious to see the outcome. Hope they have lots of outhouses, he may have to go really badly…

Cheers

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About bearrunner

I am a resident and employed in Halifax N.s... I love to run marathons and half marathons... Employed in the health care industry, enjoy photography, music, warm weather...

6 responses to “McDonald’s marathon training.. Mcdonald’s on the run! Good Monday morning…”

  1. smile breathe and go slowly says :

    Cool that he’s raising money for charity…but the mere thought of mcdonalds for 30 days makes me ill lol

  2. mountainbikefitness says :

    Hahaha! Awesome, gotta love the irony of fueling yourself on junk to finish one of the most biggest marathons! Nice post 🙂

    • bearrunner says :

      I agree, watch the guy run a 2.20 or something silly like that being fueled with that junk. Every runner will go on the McDonald’s Marathon Training Diet

      Cheers

  3. uadanilynn says :

    This is interesting, I wouldn’t be willing to risk it, but I guess once you’ve been at it for so long you know your body and what it can or can’t handle!

    • bearrunner says :

      I wont deny the fact that I do eat that junk, about once a month, but everyday, it would make me ill also… I think the guy is really trying to see if it improves his times… The times he runs, I am sure he knows what he can and can’t do, your correct.

      cheers

Leave a Reply

