33 miles of runs for the week, 33 miles of runs, 10 more to go and the week goes Bye bye! Training


I survived another day of this nonsense and I ask myself, Why??? Oh ya, it is for 3 excercise free day’s! It gives a whole new appreciation to athletes who truly do 2 a days consisting of crazy mileage… I would do it again if I had to, but wouldn’t just to squeeze miles in.

I managed 15 miles today with my morning long run of 11.3 miles and afternoon easy run of 4 miles. One thing I have learned from this experience, when the leg’s are warm and have less time to rest, they seem more responsive to physical activity. I went into my afternoon run thinking my quads and hamstrings were going to start yelling at me, and worse case scenario have to quit, but it wasn’t the case at all. I ended up increasing the pace because my legs felt like they once again, wanted to go!

I am sitting at 33 miles after 3 days. That means I need 10 miles tomorrow, which I am going to aim to hit. I am planning on an easy run in the morning and a tempo run (of less distance then usual) in the afternoon.

cheers!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About bearrunner

I am a resident and employed in Halifax N.s... I love to run marathons and half marathons... Employed in the health care industry, enjoy photography, music, warm weather...

4 responses to “33 miles of runs for the week, 33 miles of runs, 10 more to go and the week goes Bye bye! Training”

  1. Jessica says :

    Great job on your two runs!! I don’t think I could do that in the same day… I ran a 5k race once and tried to do just 6 miles after that – my legs were shot! Good luck with your 10 miles tomorrow!

    • bearrunner says :

      Thanks… Looking forward to getting it finished, thats for sure!!

      5K’S are tough to race, not surprising that ou have trouble with the 6 afterwards

      Cheers

  2. Brian says :

    Gotta say the two-a-day seems pretty beastly to me. Have not had the need or inclination to try yet. Kudos.

    • bearrunner says :

      I didn’t have any inclination to do them either, thought I would this week.. They are not really all that bad although I can imagine they would be more intense doing larger distances.. Thanks for the message!

      Cheers

Leave a Reply

