Trio to Cuba!!! Brief running break…


I wonder what the circumference is of the Riu Veradero resort… That is where we have gone in Cuba. You know you are addicted to running when you sit on google earth, with the ruler tool, and  measure the distance around the resort to see if it is possible to run… I measured almost 1000 metres which would be near perfect!

We booked at the Riu Veradero resort back in January and received a good deal as it  just opened in November 2010. It’s gotten some mixed reviews but for the most part, people have seemed to enjoy it. As with any newly opened establishment, it is going to have its issues. Knowing what you are getting into ahead of time allows going into it with an open mind. My girlfriend and myself are pretty easy-going people. It seems most of the travellers to the Rui Veradero are fellow Canadians but aren’t most visitors to Cuba?

Glad to have a few days off the running… I don’t think a break could have come at a better time!

Cheers

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About bearrunner

I am a resident and employed in Halifax N.s... I love to run marathons and half marathons... Employed in the health care industry, enjoy photography, music, warm weather...

9 responses to “Trio to Cuba!!! Brief running break…”

  1. Anne says :

    Enjoy your vacation! It looks great!. I wanted you to know I took your advice, had a gate analysis and bought a new pair of Asics Gel Kayano 10. They are like walking on a cloud. Tomorrow is my longest run – 11 miles. It will be a lot less painful now. Thanks and have a great time in the sun!

  2. Sophia @ Raven Waves says :

    Have a great time!! I’m sure it’s going to be amazing!

  3. bostonbound85 says :

    Wow…Cuba! That must be nice. I wish I could take a vacation like that this time of year. Enjoy the sun!

  4. pthrift says :

    That is bad when you’re measuring out the distance of the resort…. But the big question is– are you actually going to run or are you just curious?

    • bearrunner says :

      I ran, We went out about 3 times… Cuba is great, you get a feeling of safety, I would have ran around the resort as we saw many other people doing it, but we ran down the highway which was a lot better!

      cheers

  5. runner wannabe says :

    Have a nice vacation!

    Quote: “… You know you are addicted to running when you sit on google earth, with the ruler tool…”
    Lol, totally agreed! Do you zoom to maximum and then use patsh to get more accurate distances? (I even measured the length of my house in order to check how accurate is Google Earth).

    • bearrunner says :

      Never knew about the zoom… Interesting! I remember following my last 20 miler, I went on google earth to verify that I had ran 20 miles ha ha..

      I use my Garmin, then I will go measure the distance in my car, then go on google earth…

Leave a Reply

