Back to life, back to reality! Vacation was great.. Run RUn run!!! Train


Wow, what an incredibly weird concept… Returning home from vacation more tired and exhausted than before you left!

Vacation was excellent… Cuba is an amazing country with incredibly friendly, happy people! It is beautiful in many ways and I definitely would return. Riu Veradero, being a new resort, and getting many negative reviews on trip advisor, I had not a negative thing to say about it. I even found the food bearable.

It was so nice being able to run in summer gear… It was also nice visiting a foreign country and feeling safe enough to run down the main highway. A lot of miles were not logged, I think we (my girl friend and I) ran about 18 miles total, it was nice after a pig out at the buffet daily.

An over night flight later (would never fly overnight again) and sleeping most of the next day (Sunwing planes are not at all comfortable) I was back to reality!

Ran a tired 11 miles on Sunday following our return, now trying to figure out the schedule for the week. It is hard to schedule runs when a commitment to a race has not yet been made. I am still on the fence on running a spring marathon. Half marathons, in my books, seem much more do-able and enjoyable and can be completed on far less training…

It will probably be a tempo type run this afternoon….. Thinking somewhere in the ball park of 8 to 9 miles.

Cheers

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About bearrunner

I am a resident and employed in Halifax N.s... I love to run marathons and half marathons... Employed in the health care industry, enjoy photography, music, warm weather...

4 responses to “Back to life, back to reality! Vacation was great.. Run RUn run!!! Train”

  1. magnuminsp says :

    I have found that usually, I need a vacation from a vacation! The time needed to recover is usually twice the amount of time that you were gone!

    Any pictures from your trip?

  2. btnyrunner says :

    sounds like Cuba is quite a place. I’m not sure we Americans are even allowed to travel there. That makes it even more enticing to me. Happy running!

Leave a Reply

