Running up hills like a mountain goat! Training on malfunctioning treadmills at gym… Greys Anatomy opera!


 

At the gym yesterday, standing on a treadmill, I was scratching the top of my head in frustration wondering if they had a competent maintenance crew?… It took four treadmills before finding one that was functioning correctly. The first one appeared to have a firmware issue, the second had a frozen display, the third, which I settled on for a warmup, wobbled so bad it felt like I was running on a boat and the fourth I was able to use!!! It was a beautiful day, hitting 10 degrees, so I believe the treadmill gods were attempting to frustrate me enough to get me outside, and it almost worked! I prefer to do hill repeats on a treadmill so I prevailed! To add to the frustration, the Canadian version of the Cartoon Network was showing on the TV directly in front of me… I didn’t think kids were allowed at the gym?

I managed to get in my 7X800 meter hill repeats @ 8:00 minute miles

As a side note… I had to watch Greys Anatomy last night, as a certain female member of the household had control of the TV, and I was ready to gag! The singing throughout the show was a little much. My prediction is both the female (don’t know the character’s name) and the baby survive.

Cheers

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About bearrunner

I am a resident and employed in Halifax N.s... I love to run marathons and half marathons... Employed in the health care industry, enjoy photography, music, warm weather...

6 responses to “Running up hills like a mountain goat! Training on malfunctioning treadmills at gym… Greys Anatomy opera!”

  1. steena says :

    That is SOOOOO annoying when the equipment at the gym won’t function! There’s a big box gym here that’s like that, I once had a treadmill just stop on me when I was running on it at full speed. NOT COOL!!
    it’s interesting you prefer the treadmill for hill repeats. Sounds like you got in a great workout.

    • bearrunner says :

      They switched over to goodlife and since have lacked in the maintenance department… Multiple treadmills are broken for weeks. I am thinking about jumping ship to a new facility that just opened…
      I like the treadmill for hills and speed workouts cause they are more controlled. I crank the incline up and it turns out to be a tough workout.
      cheers

  2. Amy @ Conquering Self says :

    I’ve never really done hill workouts…what exactly do you do?

    • bearrunner says :

      I simply do a warm up, then strive for between 4-8 hills… On the treadmill I will do 800 metre hill repeats (.50 on treadmill) with recovery of the same and repeat till complete 4-8 followed by cool down… You can do a 400 metre hill – 600 metre hill (400 metre would be .25 on treadmill) I put the incline to 5% but again, you can do anywhere from a 2%-10%, speed I would use one that would be a little slower then race pace. Outside would be the same, the hardest part would be finding a hill between 4-800 metres in length. I based mine on reading once that you should find a hill that takes around 3:30 – 4:00 minutes to climb…

      cheers

  3. offthelongrun says :

    I tend to forget what 10c (I hoping it’s c!) feels like, but personally I like the cool air in the morning and really struggle with the heat in the gym – plus the monotony.
    Alex

    • bearrunner says :

      Reading forums, it seems a lot of people like winter running… I am one of the wierd ducks, I like running when it is like +30 with heat and humidity… I am not a fan of winter lol

      cheers

Leave a Reply

