Sunny Tuesdays! Work-life balance… Sick! Long run Fridays! Joy of marathon training…


I was sick, so I used a sick day today… I had no idea it was going to be 14 degrees on the day I decided to be sick! Wow, what a beautiful, sunny day. I want to be better for my 20 miles on Friday, so decided I needed the rest, and that is what I did! I took some Neo Citron, went back to bed, and slept till 12! I feel a little better already.

I am planning on doing my tempo run this afternoon, at the gym. Luckily, no one in our office is active, so I don’t have to worry about being spotted out and about when I am supposed to be ill.

Now I have to decide what I am going to tell work on Friday, when I call in, and tell them I am going to be late for the second consecutive Friday, in order to run. In all reality, this shouldn’t be an issue… Employers and companies preach work-life balance at the top of their mission statements, yet few excercise it. I run, and enjoy running… We spend too much time at work already… If I want to be late for work to run, It shouldn’t be a problem… My employer should be happy to have an active, fit, motivated person working for them…

Cheers

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About bearrunner

I am a resident and employed in Halifax N.s... I love to run marathons and half marathons... Employed in the health care industry, enjoy photography, music, warm weather...

2 responses to “Sunny Tuesdays! Work-life balance… Sick! Long run Fridays! Joy of marathon training…”

  1. KimmieT says :

    Agreed! You should just be up front with your employer though. Perhaps you could inspire others in your office to get out there and run too!

    • bearrunner says :

      My girlfriend said the same thing… To just tell them what I am doing… Thats probably the avenue I will take. I have already inspired the people in my office, they see me running or getting ready to go running from work, and now they all want me to teach them how to run… I told them I would after I was finished this marathon. I should tell my manager that as well. It is amazing how fast the running bug can be passed on to others.

Leave a Reply

