Bluenose Marathon Halifax… 47 hours to go!


47 hours and once again I will be embracing a 42.2k journey around the city. It wont be a journey of sight-seeing and scenery, but one of misery and hell as the miles slowly tick down till the finish. In my opinion, a person will enjoy no marathon as much as their first. During your first marathon the athlete is ignorant with built up nervous energy and no clue towards what lies ahead. It is all new and regardless of how tired and exhausted one becomes, they soldier on to the finish…

Running more than one marathon, you are aware of every step you take and exactly how far you have to go untill the finish line.  Every heart ache and pain you have felt in previous marathons plays out in your mind to the exact point it was felt. If you have failed a previous marathon attempt, you question whether you can get through that point the next time.

This is my fourth marathon and my PB has still come from my first… For some reason I have been more anxious and nervous as this one gets closer. That may be a good sign, may be a bad sign… I am hoping it means I am wiser and have learned from my previous mistakes and will run a smarter race. That is my goal. Every single time you embark on running a marathon there are so many factors that can affect your race either good or bad… It is 42.2k, a long distance to cover and a lot of time for something to go wrong…

Cheers

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About bearrunner

I am a resident and employed in Halifax N.s... I love to run marathons and half marathons... Employed in the health care industry, enjoy photography, music, warm weather...

2 responses to “Bluenose Marathon Halifax… 47 hours to go!”

  1. parker365photography says :

    Good luck to you! I hope you get your PR on this one.

Leave a Reply

