Trip to the U.S. Running!


Spent the weekend, and way too much money, in the U.S. of A… Drove 9 hrs from Halifax N.S to Portland ME than Bangor to hit up the outlets. With the great exchange rate it seemed like an excellent idea… It is amazing how much cheaper everything in the U.S is compared to Canada. I always wondered why Canada doesn’t have outlets but the answer is probably due to the population difference…Took advantage of all the great deals and bought lots of running and casual clothes… Would have added pictures of the trip, but I am waiting for access to the camera that contains the pictures…

Ran 3 times while away… Twice in South Portland, which seems to be a very friendly running/ biking city, and once in Bangor. It may have just been my interpretation of the city but it seemed to have nice paved bike paths on a majority of the streets. If it didn’t have paved bike paths, it had wide paved shoulders. It is funny because my girlfriend and myself were possibly looking for a marathon we could run in the U.S…Preferably a flat one… And I mentioned that Portland would be the perfect location. It seemed fairly flat???

 Once we reached the hotel in Bangor, the Sheraton at the Airport, I attempted to run on a treadmill at the gym… After realizing the T.V didnt work and my MP3 malfunctioned, it was a horrible run!

Run total last week – 34 miles… Including 2 horrible runs!

The weather was perfect… Sunny and between 75 and 80 degrees the entire time we were in Maine. Our original plan was to spend July 4th in Boston, which was only about 100 miles south of Portland, but I couldn’t get the extra day off work… Maine appears to be a great state however Bangor is a little “Different”…

Back to Canada, work and reality! The weather here today is suppose to be lovely and in the high 80’s 🙂

Cheers!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About bearrunner

I am a resident and employed in Halifax N.s... I love to run marathons and half marathons... Employed in the health care industry, enjoy photography, music, warm weather...

2 responses to “Trip to the U.S. Running!”

  1. Jen says :

    34 miles in one week(!) That is some amazing distance you got going on! I am trying to build my fitness up, and would love to be able to just – run. So 5km is first on my goal list 😉

    • bearrunner says :

      Actually 35, but who is counting… I am joking… I am not good at math. That is low mileage compared to training mileage. I like to keep it in the 30’s so if i do decide to train for something, I have a base. You will be there too!

      Cheers

Leave a Reply

