Smoking update.. Run


If you asked me; Does smoking keep the weight off?? I would say YES!… I was naive while holding cigarettes to my mouth laughing at such a claim…Now I am quite surprised. I have gained weight since I quit even with the 32 – 34 miles I run a week. Could my diet be re-adjusted – YES!

On that note, I haven’t had a cigarette since February 25th, almost 4.5 months!! Is it a fair trade for a little weight gain? Yes… I might have been a little underweight before, and as my girlfriend describes it, I have “filled” in. Would I want to run a marathon at my current weight? Probably not… I actually already did, the one I ran in the Spring… I just wouldn’t want to do it again!

Nice sunny day, 25 degrees… Inhaling water in an attempt to run this afternoon. Hoping to prevent getting smacked in the face as I was last week while running in the heat. Hopefully the 25 degrees lacks humidity… Than it wont be so bad!

Cheers

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About bearrunner

I am a resident and employed in Halifax N.s... I love to run marathons and half marathons... Employed in the health care industry, enjoy photography, music, warm weather...

One response to “Smoking update.. Run”

  1. magnuminsp says :

    Stick with it!
    My brother quit January this year and gained 30 pounds! He works out hard every day with heavy weights, so a lot of the weight is muscle. After five months, he began to eat less as his body adjusted and now, he has lost 15 of the 30 he gained. He is 6′ 4″ 250# and bench presses 450# so he isn’t exactly flabby!
    Your body will eventually adjust. You may want to try a low carb, high protein diet to jump start your weight loss. The Atkins diet is a very good diet………….provided you actually read the books and follow the directions!:)

Leave a Reply

