Runs, spins, food and drinks!


My so-called talked about run yesterday ended up being my completed run… It was cloudy, windy, damp and a little nippy so I headed to the gym to push myself as much as I possibly could over 6 miles.

I regretted a 16 minute warm up, that could have seriously made for a better time.

Than I put the treadmill at 10 miles an hour to see how long I could sustain at this speed… Nothing like starting out aggressive… It ended up not being very long, I don’t run at 10 miles an hour… I am not Kenyan and my legs don’t have that “fast twitch” turnover… I think I ended up running at 10 for about 2.5 minutes and I never reached that speed again throughout this run… I was able to maintain 9.2 – 9.4 for some time which I was rather amazed at… I did drop it down to 8.5 for a little rest but most of the run was sustained over 9 mph…(the period following the warmup) I ended the 6 miles in 43.06 but as I said earlier, had I not did such a long warmup, I could have knocked at least another 1 – 1.5 + off this run…

After that I picked up dinner… A nice, juicy pre-cooked grocery store chicken and greek salad… One of our favorite Friday night meals

Today – Spun for 45 minutes and did 6 mile run immediately following.  Even though I was on a broken spin bike, I don’t know why a gym can not be on top of fixing equipment, I completed it anyway. Too much hassle to wipe down the bike and jump on a new one.

Tonight I am taking my girlfriend out on the town… Have a nice meal and some drinks… Am I ever sweet lol

Cheers

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About bearrunner

I am a resident and employed in Halifax N.s... I love to run marathons and half marathons... Employed in the health care industry, enjoy photography, music, warm weather...

2 responses to “Runs, spins, food and drinks!”

  1. offthelongrun says :

    Mate- 10 mph (16kph) is very fast – the top marathoners only run around 20kph – are you ever sweet? dunno ask your girlfriend!

  2. Jen says :

    That is crazy speed. I HATE it when gym equipment isn’t serviced properly. They make so much money off us, the least they can do is provide decent equipment!

Leave a Reply

