Car repairs.. Running.. NYC Ironman U.S Championships…


465.00 later old faithful, 2002 Nissan Sentra, has a brand spanking new alternator! That was 465.00 sitting in my account that could have been used towards the purchase of a brand spanking new road bike! I think it is time to start looking for a new car…

Since I had no car yesterday morning, and was required to fulfill my duties at the office, I had to do something I think I have only done once before… I had to take public transit! So waking up even earlier than normal, standing at the bus stop for half an hour (I had no idea what time the bus came nor the proper bus to take) it made me realize why I paid to fix the car! Relying on the bus on a daily basis, the bus schedule, and transfers (I had to transfer once to get to the office) it would drive me nuts!

Instead of having to repeat the process to get home, I decided I would just run home instead… I have to say a person becomes clueless of distances driving in the comfort of a car every day. I work only 4 miles from my house. It seemed so much further. I ended up having to do a couple of laps around the city to make the run worth while! I also snuck into the gym near my house and ran an additional 3 miles bringing the grand total for the day to 9…

Another interesting thing I came across… NYC is hosting the U.S Ironman championship event through the city in 2012 and it is already sold out! That would be an awesome experience!!!!!!!!! Lets hope they do it every year!

http://ironman.com/mediacenter/pressreleases/first-ever-ironman-triathlon-in-new-york-city-and-new-jersey-announced-for-august-2012#axzz1TJD5HrId

Cheers

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About bearrunner

I am a resident and employed in Halifax N.s... I love to run marathons and half marathons... Employed in the health care industry, enjoy photography, music, warm weather...

Leave a Reply

