Fall half in the future….


It is becoming more and more of a reality I am going to be running a half on October 9th, 2011… http://www.valleyharvestmarathon.com/

46 day’s away…

I am not concerned about the distance, I have kept my weekly mileage around 34 miles, even while I wasn’t officially training and consistently running 8 to 10 mile runs throughout that period…

I am however concerned about time. I classify 13.1 miles as a race that falls between a speed event and an endurance event. It requires some pretty consistent pushing in order to record a decent time. With 46 day’s of training, I am not going to be following a training cycle just a 1.5 month cramming session…

Even though the first half  consists of a few dousey hills, the second half is net downhill with a flat 2 – 2.5 mile finish… Ran the full last year, can’t remember exactly how long that final road was… So this afternoon I am going to do official long run number one  11 – 11.5 miles… Nice way to start!

I am going to engulf myself in hills at least once a week, even though I know this is not going to accomplish a lot for training, it will make my legs stronger!

I am going to run the final few (possibly 4 – 5+ depending upon distance) miles of my long runs at goal pace…

Throw in some shorter runs (5 -7.5 miles) at tempo/ with a bit of speed…

And run all the others as recovery! 

I have run a 1.37 as a PB… With limited training, I would still like to accomplish a 1.35 or faster…

Have to see how it goes!

Cheers

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About bearrunner

I am a resident and employed in Halifax N.s... I love to run marathons and half marathons... Employed in the health care industry, enjoy photography, music, warm weather...

2 responses to “Fall half in the future….”

  1. markkirkham says :

    Good luck in your training!

Leave a Reply

