Oh the Boston Marathon Qualifying Standards Quams… BAA.. It boils my blood!


The more and more I read blogs of people qualifying for The Boston Marathon, the more and more It makes my blood boil. The gender gap for qualifying times is WAYYY to wide… For a male, in my age category, to qualify they must run a 3:10 marathon… Actually for the next 4 years they also must run a 3:10 marathon… That is a 7:15 mile pace for 26.2 miles… But seriously, come on, for a female to qualify in the same age bracket (this year) they have to run a 3:40… Does something not seem a little skewed????

Many, and I mean MANY females can run a 3:30 or faster marathon… Kudo’s to them!  But truthfully… How many males can run a 3:10 marathon?

I don’t know why, even with all the changes the BAA has made, they cannot realize GREATER tightening is needed between male and female qualifying times… Males in the 35 -39 age group need to run a 3:10… Than females in that same age category should have to run a 3:25. That is more comparable…

Cheers

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About bearrunner

I am a resident and employed in Halifax N.s... I love to run marathons and half marathons... Employed in the health care industry, enjoy photography, music, warm weather...

One response to “Oh the Boston Marathon Qualifying Standards Quams… BAA.. It boils my blood!”

  1. Lisa says :

    I am in no position to even imagine running sub-3:40 at the moment, but I agree that it does seem like women have it way easier. I think I’ve read that if the BQ standards were adjusted to be fully proportionate to world records it would get tougher for younger women specifically.

Leave a Reply

