Ironman Tri… Nova Scotia Canada


Talking about doing things on a whim, I was just informed that my home province of Nova Scotia is having an inaugural Ironman Distance triathlon on July 01st 2012…. That is 4 months and a few day’s from today!!

I have signed up for this event…Not paid yet though…

I don’t own a bike…Or have a pool membership… Wait, I don’t have any idea how to train for an event like this either…

I do think it would be fun to do my first event in my home province and not have a whole lot of travel expenses…

Question, do you think it is possible to train and do this even in 4 months??

http://epicdartmouth.com/

 

Cheers

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About bearrunner

I am a resident and employed in Halifax N.s... I love to run marathons and half marathons... Employed in the health care industry, enjoy photography, music, warm weather...

32 responses to “Ironman Tri… Nova Scotia Canada”

  1. The Edmonton Tourist says :

    You need 20 weeks and lots of focus. http://www.beginnertriathlete.com/cms/article-detail.asp?articleid=441

    The running room has tri classes but I would google ironman training schedules. This is exciting! I agree you have to do it in your own province, look at it as a sign 🙂

  2. Anne says :

    For you…piece of cake. Go for it! 🙂

  3. Tara Woodruff ~ The Challenge says :

    YOU can so Do It! You will Be Beastly!!! Get it!

  4. wn6jeff says :

    You can do it but you’ll have to focus on swim and bike training and let your running suffer a bit. I’m following the Don Fink training schedule and this is already week 9 out of 30 in my build-up to the Outlaw Iron distance tri (Nottingham, England) also on 1st July. Google Fink Ironfit if you’d like to check the training scheme out. Although you’re starting relatively late you clearly have a great run fitness so you should be able to catch up. Best of luck!

  5. whittlemymiddle says :

    Nice work! Nothing like signing up to motivate you. I’ve never done a triathalon or Ironman, so I have no idea if it’s enough time to train, but I’m sure you can do it.

  6. hshawjr says :

    You might not have a great time in the event, but I have a feeling that you will have a great time doing it 🙂 and you might discover a new passion, Google triathlon training plans and go buy a bike and pool membership, the Atlantic is a bit nippy right now for swimming.

  7. blessedwiththunderthighs says :

    So brave!! You can do it!
    I have never gone swimming in open water because I’m scared of it… but I took a class last summer at the community college and she showed us how the strokes should be, especially in choppy water with a bunch of people around you.
    What an amazing accomplishment it will be! Get ready for those two-a-day workouts. And that’s awesome that it’s right near your home!

  8. Jennifer Adams says :

    Yes. Kick ass and take names. It’s local, it’s your first, I wouldn’t worry about time but more the experience and a baseline

  9. bgddyjim says :

    Holy cats brother, that’s a lot to chew in four months. I’ve got two major triathlon sites on my blogroll… Both are long time tri guys. Check them out and ask them if they have any advice. We both know you’ve got the run down, the question will be the bike leg. I wouldn’t even think of getting into a half without an exceptionally solid bike. Start calling on your local bike shops – quickly. You can check your local garage sale websites (like Craigslist but for the 112 mile leg you’re going to need something that fits you and more importantly, is set up for you…and there’s a lot to it and no way to get around it.

    Good luck.

  10. liftingwithlyme says :

    I think that, if you believe in yourself, then you can do it 🙂

  11. Happy Runner says :

    You don’t want to let this opportunity pass you by. Your running is top, so 4 months to train for cycling and swimming. You can totally do it. Most important: have fun doing it!

  12. trisexual says :

    Yeah you’le be fine. Onviously if you get hold of the kit before hand. Erm,… there are a couple of good sites with free training plans for full, 70.3’s and olympic distance events.

    And yes it was you I mentioned in my latest post lol xxx

  13. jules1707 says :

    Of course you can…you will get out of it what you put in, so it will be hard work but yes I think you can do 🙂 Good Luck and blog about your training 🙂

  14. plustenner says :

    oh my goodness! good luck, looking forward to reading all about it 🙂

  15. Caroline Calcote says :

    I have no idea about the training, but I think it’s very exciting! Can’t wait to read about it.

  16. george-b says :

    Like it, like it, like it!

    Thanks for the inspiration (Now all I need to do if contribute with some…perspiration—can’t delegate that!) 🙂

  17. Rob Kotaska says :

    I rode a 100 mile ride a few years ago and used the training principles from this guy: http://www.aidsrideforlife.org/downloads/dave_mccune_packet.pdf.

    Not sure it will be useful for you, but it couldn’t hurt.

    Good luck on the swimming, I hear that is the killer.

  18. libraryscenes says :

    Get in that pool ASAP. If you can get your breathing rhythm down for a two miler, you’ll be good to go. That said, don’t forget to do last month in open water. Practice bricks. Hmmm, one last thought..if you need to work on endurance with swim, train backwards, i.e. run, bike and then finish with short swim. I used to stack mini-workouts this way, and gained amazing swim endurance. Props to you for even considering, rock on ~

  19. Henry Runs says :

    Go for it!

  20. Ready Set Pedal says :

    Go for it and give it your all! Good Luck!

  21. Tilly Bud says :

    As someone who could train for four years and still not be fit for it, I’d have to say ‘no’ 😉

    I bet you could do it though.

  22. AprilRuns says :

    You only need to train swimming and bike. With your current shape, you should be okay.

  23. allieksmith says :

    Way to be! I know you can do this 🙂

  24. Tara says :

    Wow I dream about doing an ironman!! I totally think you can do it and at least finish, but if you work hard you might do pretty well! I really don’t know much about training for them at all though.. still it would be an awesome experience!

  25. Amanda says :

    I think that you can do anything that you truly put your mind to. Of course, I’m not a trained professional or even know what it would take to train for an ironman, but I say go fir it!

  26. AndrewGills says :

    You can already run a marathon can’t you … So I reckon you’ll manage. The thing with Ironman is that it’s all about getting across the finish line. Or so I’ve heard.

    I say go for it … but remember to listen to your body during the event. If you reach a point in the event where you have to either slow down or withdraw, do it. Not that you will need to 🙂

  27. FindingMyHappyPace says :

    This is exactly how I want to register for one, just DO IT. No time to talk myself out of it, just sign up. Though.. I do think 4 months is not a lot of time to get prepared for it if you don’t own a bike or have pool access at the moment. But if your heart & head are into it, you’ll pull it off.

  28. Lisa says :

    Well, the sheer prospect of an Ironman is scary to me, but I think this 1st Nova Scotia IM sounds like a pretty cool deal. For someone w / no fitness base I’d say it’s crazy, but for someone who’s already in great running shape it’s definitely do-able. GL!!

  29. Heather says :

    YIKES! I’m impressed. Good luck and have fun!

  30. Keep Track says :

    it’s possible only if 1) you can swim 3km without stopping 2) you have adequate marathon experience 3) you buy a bike today 4) you take 4 months off work to cocentrate on training…good luck

Leave a Reply

