I am dumb for cycling all these miles hard, continually, after years of running injury free and even dumber for all those run/ bike combinations and now not even being able to run due to my thigh hurting so damn bad when I walk


I hate to inform you, I am still injured. I am as surprised as you are!

*I think I hate to inform myself or admit that I am injured…

 If I had to pinpoint a reason; I would say the past 9 weeks spent hammering out miles both running and cycling is a likely cause…

 I completed 42 miles of running last week and even knowing that this will not benefit my cause, and possibly disable me longer, it’s too late now!

 My plan is to take this entire coming week off both running and cycling to cure what ever ailment I have.

 I do plan on continuing to swim; it is soooo much fun continually going back and forth over and over and over!!!

 The best thing I could have discovered was a foam roller; after I mounted and got acquainted with it, it delivered relief to the area. A Google search recommended deep tissue message  confirming my own personal diagnosis of tightness. I am hoping it is not a stress fracture…

 I personally think it is a: “I am dumb for cycling all these miles hard, continually, after years of running injury free and even dumber for all those run/ bike combinations and now not even being able to run due to my thigh hurting so damn bad when I walk”

 To live and learn I guess… To live and learn!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About bearrunner

I am a resident and employed in Halifax N.s... I love to run marathons and half marathons... Employed in the health care industry, enjoy photography, music, warm weather...

22 responses to “I am dumb for cycling all these miles hard, continually, after years of running injury free and even dumber for all those run/ bike combinations and now not even being able to run due to my thigh hurting so damn bad when I walk”

  1. cutedogsandhugs says :

    Foam rolling is your friend. Don’t push yourself too hard! Better to take it easy and recover quickly than to push yourself and do more damage…

  2. runningthewindycity says :

    I was the same way until last season, I ran lots of miles with no injury. You’re smart to take some time off and rest but pay attention to your body during swimming. If you feel any twinges of pain you may want to break from it as well.

  3. blessedwiththunderthighs says :

    Oooh, wow. I really do hope you heal up quickly! Good thing you can continue swimming (to keep up the cardio) and I do love foam-rolling… get rid of all that stupid scar tissue.
    You probably do want to get it checked out if you suspect a stress fracture!

  4. catslondonmarathon says :

    That’s really unfortunate. I have had similar problems during my marathon training and barely managed anything for last 6 weeks of training. Luckily I still completed my marathon, although not in my target time (but just finishing at all was a surprise given my injury!) I really sympathise with your frustration. The foam roller really helped me. I also found a great book called ‘Running Anatomy’ by Joe Puleo and Patrick Milroy, which has some great stretches and weight exercises to target the problem areas. There’s other books in the series called (funnily enough!) ‘Swimming Anatomy’ and ‘Cycling Anatomy’ too, which might be useful for your triathlon training. Sending best wishes for a swift recovery. Cat x

  5. Ready Set Pedal says :

    Ouch! Get well soon!

  6. AndreaSomething says :

    Wishing you a speedy recovery! Foam rollers really are fantastic,

  7. Pamela says :

    I’m in the same boat. I ran hills and did the elliptical and upp’d my milage in my new minimal sneakers all in the same week. Dumb. Woke up Wednesday and my knee was in pain. Like you, I’m taking a full week off and won’t start up again until I’m pain free. It’s like one step forward, two steps back. I hope you feel better soon. Deep massage and foam rolling can do wonders! Hoping for a speedy recovery for you!

  8. runstilettos says :

    Ahh… good luck! Injuries are soooo disappointing 😦 You’ve been such an inspiration to me- I know after a week of rest you’ll be back at it though! Let the body recoup and go back hard! Cheers 🙂

  9. annewoodman says :

    I’m a foam roller convert as of this spring. It’s really helped, not with “injury” per se, but chronic soreness and almost a bruised feeling. I really hope you can take a day off to rest the injured area… I know it’s tough to take a rest day, but it can help tremendously.

    I hope you feel much better soon!

  10. Caroline Calcote says :

    Aw man, I’m so sorry. You are not dumb! And you win the contest for longest blog post title ever! It is so hard to rest, I know. My hip is still not right and now that all my races are over for the immediate future, I am not running at all. However, I am still biking, ellipticalling, bodypumping, and swimming, because even though that may slow down my total recovery, I just can not do nothing. Those things do not make my hip hurt, though. Only running and walking seem to make it hurt. Anyway, hoping for the best for you!

  11. andrea drugay says :

    Bummer! Injuries can be so frustrating when you’re mentally motivated :-(( But they’re such a good learning experience. You’ll be wiser because of it! (egh, not what you wanted to hear, I’m sure!)

  12. Tara Woodruff ~ The Challenge says :

    I send Recovering Vibes to you NOW!!!!

  13. Kiya Krier - Runs With Blisters says :

    Oh no! Stinking wimpy bodies needing rest and recovery. Love the title of this post though, heehee

  14. AprilRuns says :

    That is rather unfortunate but time out will help. As I learnt last week – the toughest training is the one that you cannot do! Good luck!

  15. nfoste2245 says :

    Hang in there buddy. Take the time off you need to heal and you willc ome back even stronger!

    The Kidless Kronicles

  16. AndrewGills says :

    Enjoy the time off to recover. I’m sure you have done more than enough training to date and will be okay once you recover from the injury.

    A physiotherapist once told me that the worst thing anyone can do is do brick cycle-run sessions because they have opposite ways of using hamstring & quad muscles (one shortens them while the other lengthens them – something like that; I’m a lawyer not a biologist). So I’ve always avoided doing these brick sessions.

    Maybe that’s what you need to do too to make it to Ironman – separate your cycle & run sessions. I know it goes contrary to most triathlon training but even if in the race you lose some time in the first mile or two of the run you’ve got the rest of the marathon to make it up. And it might help with managing leg injuries.

  17. Blogbiscuit says :

    take it easy, dont push yourself and do the swimming will hopefully unstiffen your muscles which may help the running and cycling a bit better.

    Thanks for the likes on my blog sorry ive not been on here to reply a bit more

  18. angela says :

    I feel for you…injury sucks when you’ve an eye on the prize. I won’t tell you to back off, but I will tell you to be cautious. Don’t rule out a tear. If you’ve not, check out chi running…there is a book, but you-tube it too to learn a more injury free form. I never did back off after the pain set in, ergo, I’m no longer a runner. be well & good luck ~ a

  19. mariflies says :

    It won’t take care of itself. You have to be just as persistent with caring and stretching as you are with the rest of your training. The old saying, your chain is only as strong as its weakest link, is just as true in this situation. Your muscles are only as strong as they can take the force, if you don’t stretch the muscle as it builds, you are creating your weak link.

  20. triathlonobsession says :

    I love that damn foam roller. Injury is such a lesson in patience and most of us type A athletes have little of it. The rest will probably make you stronger–beieve that no matter what!

  21. klayire says :

    Get a rumbleroller and find a GOOD physio

Leave a Reply

