Archive | May 3, 2011

Tempo Run… Rainy day in Halifax… 8th day in a row!


Weather is really gloomy… Another day of clouds and rain! Out of the last 8 days, we have had one of sun.

 I decided upon a tempo run at the gym… Ran 10 miles… 7.5 miles at tempo pace… Since it was going to be on the treadmill, I decided to speed things up a little. I started with a 7:24 mile increasing it to 7:14 and holding on! I was tired and actually ended up having a nap soon after arriving back home. I am surprised I didn’t fall off the treadmill ha…

I may get up early in the morning and go for a short easy run. That way I can shorten my afternoon run… That will depend on whether or not I can wake up in time. It is hard to find the motivation to get up early, let alone run,  when the weather is so gloomy.

Blah! This is what it is like living on the coast I guess…

Cheers

Week 13, training taper time… 17 days to go!


Week number 13 has begun… First week of taper. It seemed like forever, 13 weeks ago, now it appears like it has just flown by! I breathed a sigh of relief all weekend knowing 2 20s were in the dust… Taper is a time to chillax and drop the mileage. I am looking forward to running 45-48 miles this week, maintaining intensity, dropping the distance and completing a 12-14 mile LSD.

I would like to toss the watch out the window and just run… I think a lot of runners are slaves to their watches… My PB, which I still have not bettered, came following a complete training cycle and race ran watch less. I have yet to attempt this stunt again but curiosity has me interested in what the possible results may be….

Canadian Election… Conservative Majority, NDP Official opposition, Liberals 3rd


Canadian Election Results = Canada is going to turn more and more into the U.S… Conservatives got their majority gov’t, followed by a history making official opposition consisting of the NDP, and the first time ever, in the history of Canada, Liberals came 3rd…

Should be interesting to slowly watch Canada align with the U.S

At least we no longer have to worry about the separatist in Quebec..

Cheers