New Plans and Old Pains…


The last couple weeks have consisted of do not’s and donuts…  Not as many donuts…

The hip/ quad/ groin pain is still present, however more bearable. I have checked out of doing all high impact activities like running and I am enjoying the break!

I swam a total of 8,000 meters last week… I was at the cusp of completing 10,000, but drank too much Saturday night and was in no shape to jump into the pool Sunday morning. Believe me, I tried!

I decided it would be much more fun to navigate the dandelion jungle in attempt to win the epic battle of man vs. weed.  I was victorious following a hard-fought, 6 hour combat mission… It was just me, the weed extractor and 6 hours of pushing using only my right foot. I couldn’t use the left, that’s my injured leg!

I did foam roll… Then I got sick of it.

It is easier popping Advil…

This morning I swam 2000 meters consecutively.

I may have changed my plans a little… I am not going to jump directly into an Ironman. I have decided to aim for a half Ironman first and sprint/ Olympic distance races this summer.  I am hoping to complete a half by the fall than hopefully a full by next fall.

I am in the process of purchasing a better bike and plan to continue my current training.

Ironman Muskoka 70.3 September 09th is a new goal… I see it is still open…

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About bearrunner

I am a resident and employed in Halifax N.s... I love to run marathons and half marathons... Employed in the health care industry, enjoy photography, music, warm weather...

16 responses to “New Plans and Old Pains…”

  1. Will says :

    BLinking heck matey, you are a machine. Perhaps you should ease up a bit whilst you’re injured though, eh?

  2. annewoodman says :

    Good luck. Life has a way of throwing some obstacles in our way. Sounds like those dandelions had nothing on you! Warrior! BTW, your goals still sound incredibly worthy.

  3. catslondonmarathon says :

    I love that you beat the heck out of those weeds! How satisfying! Goal changing is hard to accept, but so necessary sometimes. Well done on having the guts to do it. Very sensible. Here’s hoping your left leg starts to behave itself again very soon! Cat x

  4. sarahnaut says :

    Good luck with your continued training. I don’t know if I’ll every do a tri, it’s the biking that makes me hesitant.

  5. Daphne @ Candy Coated Runner says :

    Haha swimming after a night of drinking sounds awful. Really, any sort of activity after a night of drinking sounds awful!

  6. Tara Woodruff ~ The Challenge says :

    BEAST!! You Rock!!

  7. taninja says :

    Good luck with your summer plans!

  8. Michael says :

    Hi, I’ve recently been ‘tagged’ in a blog and had to pass the ‘tag’ on, so I’ve ‘tagged’ you with a few questions as I enjoy reading your blog. Looking forward to reading your response and remember to pass the ‘tag’ on to other bloggers 🙂

  9. Anne says :

    Best of luck to you! I thought about you recently and wondered how you were doing. You are light-years ahead of me. Some day if I ever get to an “Iron Man” level of competition I’ll look to you for advice. Hang in there you are doing something that most only dream of…

  10. tischcaylor says :

    Even while injured, you still manage to inspire. Nice witticism there with the bear humor, too….

  11. Lisa says :

    You’re smart to re-assess your plans even if it’s hard to let go of the IM for this year. Here’s hoping your body heals up soon!

  12. Kim says :

    I know what it’s like to have to change plans due to injury. You have to think about longevity – there will always be more opportunities. Kick ass at what you can today!

  13. AndrewGills says :

    I hope the injuries heal. You’ve trained so hard that you’re going to smash the sprint / olympic and half-IM distance events.

    It will also give you great experience to practice race techniques for when you do the full IM.

    Racing is a fantastic experience and so much fun. You’ll have a great time doing a season of races, rather than only being able to fit one in. And then the IM will come naturally 🙂 I look forward to reading about your first race and am sure you’re going to do really well.

  14. Luv What You Do says :

    There is nothing worse than diving into a pool after a night of booze. Good for you for taking som time off. The olympic and half IM sound like the perfect warm up for the bigger race. It is always hard to reevaluate your goals and not easy to modify but you are so smart for staying true to yourself!

  15. David Jones says :

    You are the bioc man. I read these post and can’t fathom how you do this. keep up the work. Just don’t pay for it later in life.

Leave a comment