Archive | February 8, 2012

Swimming in the Pool…


So I hit the pool last night. It was cheap night and opened to the public, what better night to try out the facility. After I frolicked around in the water for a bit, and eyed the few lanes available to swim lengths, I decided to join the half a dozen or so in the “Fast Lane”.  I must have looked real amateurish as I showed up goggle less and took a space in an already clogged lane.

 I had no plan of action… I started to swim, settled into doing 100 meter sets. After several of these (I lost count after swimming the first 50 meters) and a couple 200’s, I had 1200 meters (or so) in the bank. Not bad for the first time in the pool.

 I managed a one hour run before hand… My legs, particularly lower legs, are still tight following Sunday’s race. The cold took more out of them than a half marathon usually does.

 I should have taken rest time prior to training again… Note to Mr. Eager Beaver

 What I learned from swimming;

 I need to purchase goggles, my eyes stung for hours afterwards. It was as though I had put myself through self-induced torture…

 Regular scheduled visits to the weight room are mandatory in order to build upper body strength and stamina… Swimming isn’t easy!

 Length swim would be better scheduled for morning opposed to evening… Half the city was in the pool for cheap night…

 I will hit the pool again…

Any words of wisdom???

 Cheers