Archive | February 3, 2012

Sayonara January.. Half-Marathon Sunday…


 Sayonara January, Bonjour February!!

 I must admit, I am not sad to see the end of January. January is a long, dismal month, which the holiday season tends to zap any excitement from.

 My goal for February is to run more often outdoors… I have already begun accomplishing this feat with three, yes three, consecutive outdoor runs this week. I cannot report that they consisted of running countless miles in a bitter cold and barren Canadian landscape or uphill in both directions in waist-high snow drifts, they were merely three taper runs leading into this Sundays half marathon. I can however say that I enjoyed each and every one of them!

 I am now in rest mode for Sunday. I have logged a total of 10 miles over three days this week. I usually run more miles leading into a half, but decided to take a different approach giving my legs a wee bit more rest.

 I am not holding out for any amazing results, I am pessimistic about nailing this race due to my training. I do know anything can happen on race day… Pacing is key! Even more important, racing within my means…

 I am going to partake in carbo-loading activities involving beer and pasta over the next couple day’s… (nothing severe, I don’t drink that much) and not all that many carbs are required for a half. Every day feels like carb day for me…

 

Look’s as though it is going to be chilly! This is what a February half marathon looks like in Canada… Do you think they may let me participate on the treadmill?

Are you racing this weekend? Or doing something equally as exciting??