Archive | February 13, 2012

Running, cycling, swimming and going crazy running circles around an indoor track


“One of these activities is more boring than the other…”

 The three options are; running on a treadmill, cycling on an indoor trainer or doing multiple laps around a 200 meter indoor track…

 Sunday morning brought me indoors; a freak ice storm coated the city causing the roads to be inhabitable by the average runner. It could have been worse; the rest of the Maritimes got hammered with snow…

 I figured I would attempt my planned 10 mile run on the indoor track instead of the treadmill, since I had the option available.

 I managed 48 laps, or 5 miles, that was all the circles I could handle… I almost went nuts! I converted back to the treadmill for the remaining 5.

 The indoor track wins as most boring activity… Followed by bike than treadmill…

 Sunday was rounded out with 800 meters in the pool and an end to week 1!

 Week number one totals;

 Swim; 3200 meters

Bike; 4 hrs 25 minutes

Run; 35 miles

 Eight days straight following last Sundays Half Marathon (didn’t take a break). I appear to have inherited a cold… I have obviously worn myself down but have planned rest days ahead.

 Do I think I could complete an Ironman in 20 weeks? Yes, I do. I couldn’t win an Ironman in 20 weeks, but I know I could complete one with a decent time. Next week is going to be similar to last in regards to training…

 Has any one else experienced excruciating hamstring pain following laps in the pool??? I had this happen to me on Sunday and it hurt like hell…